DWI Third Offense In Louisiana

DWI 3rd Offense Louisiana – Felony

Your DWI Third Offense Louisiana is a felony and according to Louisiana revised statutes RS 14:98.3 these are the possible penalties upon conviction. You can expect to pay a $2000 fine. You can expect to serve one to five years in jail. One year must be served and cannot be suspended. You can expect to be on probation for up to five years. You can expect 240 hours of community service. Yow will be required to participate in a substance abuse evaluation to determine the presence and nature of addiction. You will be required to participate in substance abuse treatment for 4 weeks and up to 12 months outpatient treatment. You will get probation for any suspended sentence plus home incarceration for a minimum of 6 months. The prosecutor will have the option of seizing your vehicle and sell it. You will be required to have a ignition interlock device for any vehicle driven by the convicted.

  • Fines: $2000
  • Jail Time: 1-5 years
  • Probation: 5 years
  • Community Service: 240 hours
  • Substance abuse evaluation
  • Substance abuse treatment (4 weeks inpatient – up to 12 months out-patient)
  • Home Incarceration: Minimum of 6 months
  • Vehicle Seizure – At the discretion of the prosecutor
  • Ignition Interlock device