DWI 2nd Offense Louisiana – Misdemeanor
Your DWI Second Offense Louisiana is also a misdemeanor and according to Louisiana revised statutes RS 14:98.2 these are the possible penalties upon conviction. You can expect to pay a fine of $750-$1000 dollars. You can expect to serve between 30 days and six months in jail (possible home incarceration). You can expect to be on probation for six months. You will be required to complete a shocking 240 hours of community service in which half of it will require you to participate in a litter abatement program (picking up trash). You will be also required to participate in a court approved substance abuse program and a court approved driver improvement program.
- Fines: $750-$10000
- Jail Time: 30 days – 6 months (Possible home incarceration)
- Probation (6 months)
- Community Service: 240 hours and half you will be required to pick up trash.
- Court approved substance abuse program & Court approved driver improvement program
Possible additional penalties:
- If the BAC registered over .15 then there is an additional 96 hours of mandatory jail time that cannot be suspended for any reason.
- If the BAC registered is over .20 then an additional 96 hours of mandatory jail time, additional fine of $1000. Also if you BAC registered more than .20 your drivers license will be suspended for 4 years, and you will be required to have an ignition interlock system for the first 3 years of the 4 year suspension.
A good DWI attorney may be able to reduce or dismiss your charges. There are many different reasons why this could happen. If you have been charged with your second offense DWI in Louisiana we can help you. Call me today at (504) 401-9307 for a free case review. We will over the details of your case and get started in your defense.